Conference Co-Chairs

Prof. Stefan Hecht, PhD


Since 2006 he has been holding the Chair of Organic Chemistry and Functional Materials at the Department of Chemistry of the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and is a member of IRIS Adlershof. After his graduate studies in chemistry at the University of California at Berkeley he rose through the ranks at Freie Universität Berlin and the Max Planck Institute for Coal Research at Mülheim/Ruhr before returning to his alma mater. He has received the ERC Consolidator Grant (2012), the Klung Wilhelmy Science Award (2010), the ADUC Young Investigator Award of the German Chemical Society (2005), and MIT’s Technology Review Top 100 Young Innovator Award (2004).

Prof. Dr. Norbert Koch


Since 2009, the physicist Norbert Koch has been Professor of Structure, Dynamics and Electronic Properties of Molecular Systems at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Previously, he conducted postdoctoral research at Princeton University and has since 2003 been a researcher at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. He headed the Emmy Noether Independent Junior Research Group »Supramolecular Systems« at the Department of Physics. In 2008, he received the Karl Scheel Award from the Physikalische Gesellschaft zu Berlin (Berlin Physical Society). He is Joint Group Leader at Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie and the deputy director of IRIS Adlershof.

Local Organizing Committee

Prof. Dr. Claudia Draxl

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany

Prof. Dr. Katharina Franke

Freie Universität Berlin, Germany

Prof. Dr. Emil List-Kratochvil

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany

Prof. Dr. Dieter Neher

Universität Potsdam, Germany

Dr. Andreas Opitz

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany

Local Organizing Team

IRIS Adlershof

International Advisory Committee

Zhenan BaoStanford University, USA
Paul BlomMax Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Germany
Peter BäuerleUlm University, Germany
Jean-Luc BrédasGeorgia Institute of Technology, USA
Lin X ChenNorthwestern University, USA
Maxwell CrossleyUniversity of Sydney, Australia
Yong CaoSouth China University of Technology, China
Luisa de ColaUniversity of Strasbourg, France
Georges HadziioannouUniversity of Bordeaux, France
Emil List-KratochvilHumboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany
Christine LuscombeUniversity of Washington, USA
George MalliarasEcole Nationale Supérieure des Mines de Saint Etienne, France
Seth MarderGeorgia Tech, USA
Tobin MarksNorthwestern University, USA
Klaus MüllenMax Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Germany
Thuc-Quyen NguyenUniversity of California, Santa Barbara, USA
John ReynoldsGeorgia Tech, USA
Ulrich ScherfUniversity of Wuppertal, Germany
Yasuhiko ShirotaUniversity of Osaka, Japan
Zhigang ShuaiTsinghua University, China
Zen-ichi YoshidaKinki University, Japan
Xi ZhangTsinghua University, China
Deqing ZhangChinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China
Daoben ZhuChinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China